tesco ceo salary
Tesco CEO Salary 2026: How It Compares to Typical Chief Executive Pay and Store Worker Wages
Explore the Tesco CEO salary in context of UK chief executive pay, supermarket worker rates, and regional differences. See take-home pay estimates and tax breakdowns.
Pay snapshot: The typical UK chief executive median salary is £99,944 gross per year, but Tesco CEO pay is likely far higher; store workers earn around £13.28 per hour nationally.
Related pay reference
£ / year
- Finance & insurance£52,000
- Information & communication£48,000
- Professional / scientific / technical£45,000
- Education£38,000
- Construction£37,000
Tesco CEO Salary in Context: Regional and Seniority Differences
When people search for "tesco ceo salary", they often want to understand how the top earner's pay compares with typical chief executive pay and with the wages of store workers. This guide uses the latest publicly available data from ONS, GOV.UK, and HMRC to provide a clear picture.
Typical Chief Executive Pay
According to the ONS Annual Survey of Hours and Earnings (ASHE) 2025 provisional data, the median full-time salary for chief executives and senior officials is £99,944 per year. The mean is much higher at £158,728 because very large executive packages pull the average up. At the median, gross monthly pay is about £8,329, and after Income Tax and employee National Insurance (2026/27 rates, standard tax code 1257L), estimated take-home pay is around £5,710 per month.
It is important to note that this figure covers all chief executives and senior officials across the UK, not specifically the Tesco CEO. Tesco is a FTSE 100 company, and its CEO's total compensation package — including salary, bonus, long-term incentives, and benefits — is likely to be substantially higher, often running into millions of pounds. The search results do not provide a precise Tesco CEO salary figure, so we rely on the typical median as a benchmark.
Supermarket Worker Pay: Regional Differences
At the other end of the seniority scale, supermarket workers earn hourly rates set above the National Living Wage. For 2026, the major supermarket rates are:
- Tesco: £13.28 per hour nationally, £14.55 inside the M25.
- Sainsbury's: £13.23 nationally, £14.54 London.
- M&S: £13.41 nationally, £14.74 London.
- Asda: £12.71 nationally from April, rising to £13.10 from July; London rates £13.93 rising to £14.35.
The National Living Wage for anyone aged 21 and over is £12.71 per hour from April 2026. The London premium adds roughly £1.27–£1.33 per hour, reflecting higher living costs.
Take-Home Pay for a Tesco Store Worker
Using Tesco's national rate of £13.28 per hour for a 35-hour week:
- Annual gross: £13.28 × 35 × 52 = £24,169.60
- Income Tax (20% on earnings above £12,570): £2,319.92
- Employee National Insurance (8% on earnings above £12,570): £927.97
- Take-home before pension: £20,921.71 per year (about £1,743 per month)
If auto-enrolled in the workplace pension, a further 5% of qualifying earnings would be deducted, reducing take-home further. Student loan repayments would also apply if applicable.
Regional Tax Differences
Income Tax bands differ in Scotland. Scottish taxpayers face higher rates at most income levels above about £27,000. For example, the basic rate in Scotland ranges from 19% to 21% on earnings up to £43,662, compared to 20% up to £50,270 in England, Wales, and Northern Ireland. National Insurance is the same across the UK.
Seniority and Pay Gaps
The gap between a Tesco CEO and a store worker is vast. While the typical chief executive median is £99,944, a store worker on £24,170 earns about a quarter of that. The CEO of a FTSE 100 company like Tesco will have total compensation many times the typical median, often exceeding £4–5 million when including bonuses and long-term incentives. This illustrates the extreme seniority differences in UK pay.
Using Our Tools
To calculate your own take-home pay, try our take-home calculator. For more salary comparisons and guides, visit our salary articles. You can also explore salary data for various occupations.
Summary
- Typical chief executive median salary: £99,944 gross; take-home ~£5,710/month.
- Tesco CEO salary is not publicly specified but is likely far higher.
- Tesco store worker: £13.28/hr national, take-home ~£1,743/month.
- London premium adds over £1/hour for store staff.
- Scottish Income Tax bands differ and can reduce take-home.
- Always check your own tax code, pension, and deductions for accurate figures.
Frequently asked questions
What is the typical chief executive salary in the UK?
According to ONS ASHE 2025 provisional data, the median full-time salary for chief executives and senior officials is £99,944 per year. The mean is £158,728, pulled up by very high packages. At the median, estimated monthly take-home pay is about £5,710 after Income Tax and National Insurance (2026/27 rates).
How does Tesco store worker pay compare to the CEO's?
Tesco store workers earn £13.28 per hour nationally (2026), or about £24,170 gross per year for 35 hours a week. The CEO's pay is not publicly specified in the search results, but typical CEO pay is £99,944 median, and for a FTSE 100 company like Tesco, total compensation is likely many times that. The gap is substantial.
What is the take-home pay for a Tesco employee on the national rate?
On £13.28 per hour for 35 hours a week, annual gross is about £24,170. After Income Tax (£2,320) and National Insurance (£928), take-home is roughly £20,921 per year, or £1,743 per month. Pension contributions and student loans would reduce this further.
Related articles
uk army salary
UK Army Salary 2026/27: Gross Pay, Take-Home and How It Compares to Civilian Jobs
Understand the uk army salary for 2026/27: gross pay by rank, take-home after tax and NI, and how it stacks up against civilian roles. Includes negotiating tips.
aldi uk minimum wage
Aldi UK Minimum Wage 2026/27: How It Compares to the National Living Wage and Your Take-Home Pay
Explore Aldi UK minimum wage in 2026/27, how it stacks up against the National Living Wage, and what your take-home pay looks like after tax and NI.
prime minister salary
Prime Minister Salary 2026/27: Gross Pay, Take-Home and How It Compares
Explore the prime minister salary for 2026/27: gross pay of £83,837 (entitled) or £75,440 (claimed), plus MP salary. See how tax and NI affect take-home pay and how it compares to UK median earnings.
fifa president salary
FIFA President Salary: How It Compares to UK Take-Home Pay and Tax Bands
No precise UK figure exists for the FIFA president salary. Compare hypothetical high earnings to UK median pay, Income Tax, National Insurance, and take-home after deductions.
ronaldo salary per second
Ronaldo Salary Per Second: How It Compares to UK Take-Home Pay and Common Myths
Ronaldo salary per second myths vs UK reality. See how his earnings stack up against National Living Wage, median pay, and what you actually take home after tax.
tfl train driver salary
TfL Train Driver Salary 2026: Gross Pay, Take-Home and How It Compares
Discover the latest TfL train driver salary figures for 2026, including gross pay, take-home after tax and pension, and how it compares to other UK roles.